The first 24 hours in Skagaströnd

In one word: varied!

I arrived in stunning light and immediately took a photo on my phone of the view from my bedroom window. It was nothing short of hauntingly beautiful. Later in the afternoon, I went to get my bearings, heading up a small hill on the edge of the sea just north of the port facilities. The sun was just dropping over the horizon, giving a moodiness to the scene. I popped into the studios and claimed a spot for myself on the way through.

As night fell, I went out again briefly to test my new camera’s settings. It doesn’t disappoint, picking up residual light the human eye struggles to see.

The wind picked up overnight and hasn’t abated at the time of writing this text nearly 24hrs later. It brought driving rain with it in the early hours that continued until about 11:30am as the sun rose. Taking advantage of a clearing sky, I headed out in a similar direction to the previous afternoon, looking for the sea cliffs. I didn’t linger long! In taking a photo of the town from that vista, I noted new clouds on the horizon, the hills disappearing into them. Thinking more rain, I calculated I’d have about half an hour to get back to the sanctuary of the studio. Wrong. Within 3 minutes the wind picked up. My body kept taking massive leaps to the left involuntarily every 20 seconds. Then the snow flurries arrived. That charmed me and took away the unpleasantness of the wind: for about 1 minute. I’d forgotten how much snow hurts when it makes a sudden impact with your face. A thousand freezing needles punched the right side of my face as the wind kept hurling the rest of me to the left. The saying goes, if you don’t like the weather in Iceland, wait 5 minutes. As a Melbournian, I’m very familiar with this saying, but Melbourne has nothing on Iceland. They take this mantra to extremes. It was clear again soon after I staggered into the warm sanctuary of the studios. The wind is still howling but the hills are clearly visible and covered in a pretty white dusting of snow. I was even briefly confident at 4:30 that the clearing sky might mean the aurora borealis is visible later. By the time I finish this sentence, I’d say that’s probably in doubt again.

Leave a Reply

